top of page
Search
  • K

Habits




It takes 21 days for a habit to stick. I’m not going to lie but I cave in around the 1st week, sticking to habits are hard because most of the time it feels like a chore, a constant task. I know, I know that creating a habit will result in making lives much simpler. Ha not.


One habit I can say that I’ve stuck to is going to the gym but come to think of it, it was probably paying the membership that has fuelled it. I made a promise to myself a year ago that I wanted to change myself for the better, not knowing what “the better” meant.

I am going to embark on a journey like Cassey Ho from Blogilates. A 90-day journey. To work on myself and not focus on what others think. To get away from that mentality of accepting the social norm and what to look like. Just to believe in myself. Work on myself and in the end to accept and love myself.

Self-confidence is a major issue for me and of course to many people. I grew up in an area which, to be frank, not many people looked like me. I was always the odd ball and when you’re growing up in the 90s/00s that was hard. So, you can imagine that I was bullied or isolated in many occasions. Those issues still haunt me. One memory I have was in primary school was when I wasn’t invited to my friend’s house over in the weekend because her parents didn’t want to say the wrong thing in front of me.

It was then I realised that I looked different to everyone and that though some people may have good intentions, they don’t want to offend the other party. I started to notice how people looked, dressed and acted and I became self-critical in myself. This continued till now. I can say I’m in a better state mentally, but I still have a long way to go. As today is World Mental Health Day, I found it fitting to write this.

Typing it out feels like, in a way, my therapy.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2017 by My Kollective. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page